Area schools receive Secretary of State library grants


DECATUR — School districts in Illinois will receive more than $22,000 in grants through the Illinois Secretary of State's School Library Grant Program, state Sen. Andy Manar, D-Bunker Hill, said in a news release on Thursday.

The grants, which are issued by the Illinois State Library, are meant to help public schools offer more library books and materials to students.

Districts receiving grants include Argenta-Oreana , $750; Central A&M, $750; Decatur School District, $6,052.50; Hillsboro, $1,195.50; Nokomis, $750; Pana, $934.50; Sangamon Valley, $750; and Taylorville, $1,775.25.